My Garage

2021 Jeep Wrangler - All Trims Explained

2021 Jeep Wrangler - All Trims Explained


No self-respecting lover of both cars and nature would be able to call their life complete without a 2021 Jeep Wrangler to call their own. The Wrangler, a rugged, all-purpose, beast for all occasions boasts such fervent acolytes that fan groups dedicated to them pop up regularly. Honks and waves on the street from passing Wrangler owners are the norm. 


Jeep knows that the world loves the Wrangler and that’s likely why they’ve made so many variations on the much-lauded rock-jumper to give all of its fans something to stay excited about. 


This year, amongst other things, Jeep gave Wrangler lovers the first V8-powered Wrangler to come along in 40 years in the Rubicon 392. What more could a Wrangler fan want than a little more power? And they’re in luck; the Rubicon 392 is the most powerful Jeep Wrangler ever created, capable of 470 hp and 470 pounds per feet of torque. 


Exciting stuff! With a fully-electric Jeep Wrangler on the horizon, the Magneto, Jeep still evidently has some tricks up its sleeve for how to keep the Wrangler fresh and interesting. 


There’s something for everyone in the full range of the Jeep Wrangler line though, so let’s take a little run through some of the reasons to stay interested in this eternal favourite of adventure seekers. If you are not sure what exactly does car trim mean, then check out our blog on car trim explanation.




As stated above, Jeep works hard to keep the Wrangler fresh and interesting. That may be why though there are only four main models of the Jeep Wrangler, there are no less than sixteen (!) variations in the Jeep Wrangler trim line. That may be a lot to get your head around so let’s start with the main four models and work our way down from there. 


Jeep Wrangler Sport


The Jeep Wrangler Sport harkens back to the earliest iterations of the days of the Wrangler, the Sport is a two-door fun machine that comes with a standard soft top, a standard 285-horsepower, V6 engine and a six-speed manual transmission.


While Jeep Wranglers are at home on a suburban commute their true passion is a rugged landscape and the Wrangler Sport is no different. It comes with skid plates under the fragile bits and heavy-duty front and rear Dana axles. 


Standard features include push-button start, a 5-inch touch screen, an eight-speaker audio system and Bluetooth capability. There are also upgrade options, such as a hardtop and eTorque mild-hybrid assist that will increase fuel efficiency for the Wrangler Sport. 


This one’s the bare-bones Jeep for the Jeep enthusiast. It’s perfectly capable on a city drive and it blends the road and off-road handily but the faint of heart may be better suited to an SUV that ups the frills and leave this one to the off-road adventurers. 


jeep wrangler sport


Jeep Wrangler Sport S 


The Jeep Wrangler Sport S gives you all of the essentials to get back to basics and enjoy Jeep capabilities that will get you out into the open air while enjoying some of the amenities that modern Jeeps are known for. 


Speaking of amenities, when you jump up from the Jeep Wrangler Sport to the Wrangler Sport S, that’s the main change that you’ll be looking at. The Wrangler Sport S retains the functional capability of the Wrangler Sport but adds a few bells and whistles like a leather-wrapped steering wheel, available Uconnect in the infotainment system and an available remote-start system. 


Jeep Wrangler Sport S


Jeep Wrangler Sahara


In keeping with the theme of the Jeep Wrangler trim line expanding into the realm of luxury, the Jeep Wrangler Sahara has been credited as the model that brought the Wrangler out of the woods and into the suburban streets. The Sahara is a four-door version of the more compact Wranglers that allowed the Wrangler to step into the role of a sort of proto-SUV - one that was capable of fording mountain gorges and picking up the weekend groceries in equal measure. The Sahara is equipped with side steps and larger brakes than its predecessors to up the ante in terms of ruggedness. The Jeep Wrangler Sahara gets its get-up and go with the help of a standard 3.6L Pentastar V6 which kicks it up to 285 horsepower with 260 pounds per feet of torque. The Wrangler Sahara may be a smoothly conventional ride on the city streets but don’t make the mistake of thinking that this Wrangler isn’t at home while jumping rocks: it maintains ten inches of ground clearance and ups the angles to roll over obstacles that a lesser crossover would get snagged on. 


Jeep Wrangler Sahara


Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 


Many people make the mistake of thinking that the Jeep Wrangler Rubicon is a stand-alone Jeep model but it’s still a Wrangler. And it’s the most rugged of the bunch, tailor-made for hopping off the pavement. With its low gear range, protective undercarriage shielding, heavy-duty wide track Dana 44 axles, and low gear range, the Rubicon is specifically designed for traversing difficult terrain. It adds locking front and rear differentials and a sway bar to the mix as well, just in case anyone was confused about the type of driving that the Rubicon is capable of. Just because it can hit a mountain range in style doesn’t mean that it skimps on the city comfort though. The Jeep Wrangler Rubicon may be the pinnacle of style and functionality combined. 




Jeep Wrangler 4xe


Ok, ok, we did say that there were only 4 main models in the Wrangler line but that’s not completely true. Later this year, a new Wrangler will be joining the family: the 4xe. The Jeep Wrangler 4xe will be the first hybrid model to join the lineup and it will feature a turbocharged four-cylinder traditional engine as well as two electric motors. Jeep states that the 4xe will be capable of attaining 375 horsepower out of the 4xe and it’s doubling down expectations for the new kid on the block: Jeep has started rolling out charging stations at the trailheads of some of America’s most respected off-roading destinations such as the Moab Desert and the (aptly named) Rubicon trail. 





The Full Rundown 


In addition to the four (soon to be five!), there are multiple variants that keep the Wrangler line fresh and exciting. The variations in the specs for each run the gamut from minor to major but one thing is for sure: there’s something for every manner of Jeep enthusiast in this lineup. 


The full Canadian Jeep Wrangler lineup is: 


  • Jeep Wrangler Sport 
  • Jeep Wrangler Willys Sport 
  • Jeep Wrangler Sport S 
  • Jeep Wrangler Islander
  •  Jeep Wrangler Willys 
  • Jeep Wrangler 80th Anniversary Edition
  •  Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport 80th Anniversary Edition 
  • Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 
  • Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport S 
  • Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Islander 
  • Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport Attitude 
  • Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Willys 
  • Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara
  •  Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara Altitude
  •  Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
  •  Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara High Altitude 


Is your interest piqued? Maybe you’re already a Wrangler fan or owner but after all of this talk of fantastic Wrangler models and trims, you’re ready to test drive a whole new style of Wrangler to see how a new model meets your needs. If that’s the case, a CarHub Product Advisor is always only an appointment away! 

Categories: Know Your Trim, The More You Know, Get To Know Your Car

Tags: , , , , ,